Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 17th, 2013 09:00

weird webcam issue with dell inspiron 5520 and windows 7

Hi guys, I'm new to dell and hope someone can help me.

Just got a new  inspiron 5520 that came with ubuntu, i've installed win 7, got all the drivers from the dell site installed, works like charm - except one thing:

When i use skype i have no picture showing myself, instead a white little window. Going to skype camera setting I've got the same thing, only a blank whike image. What makes the situation even more weird is thar anybody I'm talking to cam see a image of my webcam.

I really don't know what to do, hope anybody has an idea.

3.1K Posts

March 17th, 2013 19:00

Hi Mza84,

Please check under 'Imaging Devices' in 'Device Manager' and see if the Integrated webcam gets detected. To check webcam in 'Device Manager':

• Click on “Start” and right click “Computer”.
  • Click on “Manage”.
  • Click on “Device Manager”.
  • Under “Imaging Devices”, you will find the 'Webcam' listed.
  • Right click and uninstall. 
  • Restart and see if it makes any difference.

If the Webcam is detected in Device Manager, I would suggest you to install Dell Webcam Central software and check if the camera is working. You may download and install Webcam software from the following link http://bit.ly/TjXOwa 

Please reply if you have any questions.

2 Posts

March 31st, 2013 12:00

Tnx mate, already tried, didn't work, even Dell Webcam Central did not show any problems with the integrated camera...but I have figured out that this issue could be related to DirectX.

After installing newest version of DirectX my webcam works like charm with skype.

Problem solved:)

Thanks for helping out Appu

3.1K Posts

April 2nd, 2013 06:00

Hi Mza84,

Glad that you fixed the issue. Direct X could have been a possible cause, though unlikely; you made a wise move.
Do reach out in case you need any further assistance.

May 11th, 2013 00:00

Hey,