Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 18th, 2018 13:00

Display port

Hi there 

This is my first time posting . 

I have a latitude e6410 . I was using this through the display port to hdmi on my 10 year old hd tv (worked great) .

I have just bought a new 4k TV , but now the picture is the wrong size and I have no sound ... Using same cable (only change is the TV) , is there a fix for this ???

I don't want to buy a new laptop when this one works perfectly for my needs . 

Thanks 

Ian 

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

October 19th, 2018 14:00

Are you sure it's just the left and right sides getting cut off rather than some off the top and bottom as well?  If it's all sides, that would be called overscan, and some TVs always overscan a bit when they're receiving a signal at a resolution other than their native resolution, which you wouldn't be able to send to this new TV from that system.  But if it's just the left and right edges, that means your PC is either sending a signal that's proportionally wider than the TV's aspect ratio, or the TV is stretching the video it's receiving from your PC only along the horizontal axis and even though doing so is causing some of the edges to be off-screen, which wouldn't make sense.  But again I ask, if you check Windows Display Settings on your PC while connected to the new TV, what resolution are you sending?  Make sure it's 1920x1080.  And can you confirm you've got it set up in Extend Mode rather than Mirror Mode in order to rule out issues trying to match whatever is being displayed on your built-in panel on the TV?

10 Elder

• 

24.8K Posts

October 18th, 2018 13:00

HD isn't 4K - and the old Latitude isn't capable of driving a 4K monitor. 

You CAN get audio (hook up the headphone jack to the TV input) but there's no way hardware as old as the E6410 will drive a 4K monitor -- you simply cannot get a full screen on a 4K TV out of it.

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

October 18th, 2018 14:00