Start a Conversation

Unsolved

R

14 Posts

June 16th, 2021 03:00

WD19Tb USB port broken - Dell refuses repair - customer damage??

Yesterday I remove a USB cable from my 10month old WD19TB.

The blue tab inside the port came away with the USB cable - leaving the port unusable.

The dock is under warranty so I contacted Dell support and sent them photos as requested.

But they refuse to repair/replace it - as they claim customer damage!

I am a developer/IT Consultant with more than 30yrs industry experience - I have built + upgraded PCs, repaired laptop etc. But according to Dell, I don't know how to remove a USB cable without damaging a port?

If the simple act of removing a USB cable from a Port can damage it - it is not fit for purpose.  Might as well hardwire everything and not have ports?

In all my years of using PCs and laptops, I have never seen this scenario where the plastic tab inside a USB port comes away. Dell refuses to accept that a port should not break by merely removing a cable.

I can understand if it was some cheap £30 Anker USB hub - but this is a £300 dock.

In fact, none of my cheap USB hubs over the years have ever had the same issue!

2 Posts

July 3rd, 2021 07:00

Same problem. 

https://youtu.be/t8fPnvNLNMI

Found this on youtuber as well. Clearly a dell issue that they are balming on customers. 

2 Posts

July 3rd, 2021 20:00

UPDATE

My docking station got replaced.

14 Posts

July 8th, 2021 00:00

After much debating with the Dell Tech Support person and insisting on speaking with a supervisor etc, they finally agreed to replace mine too.

Unfortunately, the 1st one had a duff power button - so that had to be returned. Eventually got a working replacement.

14 Posts

November 7th, 2022 04:00

Looks like the replacement is also now failing just over 16 months later.. Lots of random high pitch fan noises from the dock - even though the room temperature is 18centrigrade or lower...