Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 28th, 2013 12:00

ArchBang Linux works like a charm on Haswell/Ubuntu XPS 13

I've been battling the i7 version of the Haswell/Ubuntu XPS 13 for more than a week now and have had no success getting (a) wireless, (b) trackpad and (c) touchscreen all working under any version of Ubuntu, despite compiling a number of different kernels.

However, I installed ArchBang Linux, which has the latest kernel, and everything worked without any tinkering, which I must say surprised me. I then installed Gnome and had a more or less functional machine. I have little experience with Arch, and from what I hear setting up the non-ArchBang version can be a little daunting, but where Ubuntu failed me, ArchBang didn't.

25 Posts

December 28th, 2013 17:00

As shipped, wireless, trackpad and touchscreen work out of the box on Ubuntu 12.04. I can also confirm that they work after using the official recovery media. If you stray from the pre-installed Ubuntu or the official recovery media, it's true you may have driver problems with Ubuntu.

6 Posts

December 28th, 2013 18:00

I used the official Sputnik ISO (http://hwe.ubuntu.com/uds-q/dellxps/amd64/sputnik-precise-amd64.iso) and the wireless didn't work, nor did the trackpad or touchscreen. I recompiled with the Sputnik Kernel (https://launchpad.net/~canonical-hwe-team/+archive/sputnik-kernel) and the trackpad worked, but not the wireless. I recompiled with kernels 3.12.6, 3.11.10, 3.10.25, and the trackpad never worked, even after making sure Cypress Trackpad support was selected via menuconfig. Wireless didn't work with standard Ubuntu 12.04 or 13.04. Trackpad didn't work with standard 13.10, nor did touchscreen.