Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 24th, 2007 09:00

Inspiron 6000 touchpad problem/ How do I set 'SHMConfig' 'true' in xorg.conf

Just installed Ubuntu last week and not sure what I'm doing yet, when I move the curser around it constantly left clicks on objects, this started about 2 months ago when I was still running windows but wasn't as bad, seen a thread in the laptop section to check if the tap to click function was on but the instructions were for windows. If I go to System-Preferences-Touchpad I get a message saying GSynaptics couldn't initialize You have to set 'SHMConfig' 'true' in xorg.conf or XF86Config to use GSynaptics. How do you do that? This is my first time using linux and I'd hate to experiment, I was hoping to dual boot but I don't see windows in my grub so I think I wiped that,oops, so fixing it that way's not an option. Everything else I've been figuring out and am pretty satisfied.

Message Edited by zabien1970 on 06-24-2007 08:39 PM

5 Posts

June 27th, 2007 16:00

You want to add this line (without quotes):

Option HorizScrollDelta 0

to this file: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

but first backup the file by typing at the commandline:

cp xorg.conf xorg.conf.orig

put it in the InputDevice section and make sure it's before the EndSection line. You'll need to do all this from the commandline as root (use sudo -i) and the nano text editor. Or for the editing part you can press ALT F2 and type "gksudo gedit" to use a graphical editor.

Sahuaro Phoenix Linux Users Group "Penguins in the desert"

5 Posts

June 30th, 2007 05:00