Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 13th, 2008 00:00

Mini 9 with ubuntu freezes

I bought and received a mini 9 with ubuntu about a month ago, and recently it has started freezing to where the only option is a hard reboot- not even Ctrl-Alt-Del works.  I am new to working with linux, and so have not had much luck in figuring out why it should be freezing, since there is no pattern to it- sometimes the mini freezes minutes after I turn it on, other times, an hour later.  However, if I turn it on and leave it on, it will freeze- and it tends to freeze more if I am not using it, when it is idle, though several times it has frozen while I have been working.

Everything I have heard of linux says that it is so stable, so I am really worried- is this a problem with my computer, or the operating system?  How can I tell, and how to fix it?

Computer is:  Inspiron Mini 9 with Ubuntu 8.0.4

47 Posts

December 15th, 2008 01:00

I have the same issue, any help would be great!

32 Posts

December 17th, 2008 04:00

a long shot but have either of you got the laptop set up to go to power off when idle? ie on standby (not hibernate)

You can find this set up within the system settings

4 Posts

December 17th, 2008 18:00

No, it's not the settings- I called up Ubuntu Dell help, and apparently, I have to reinstall Ubuntu to fix the problem.

2 Posts

January 15th, 2009 19:00

I see the same issue with a 2 week old mini 9 with essentially no changes over the out-of-the-box configuration (a couple shortcuts added to the dell launcher).

2 Posts

January 16th, 2009 11:00

Can you tell me how you like this opperating system?  Is it pretty easy to understand, connect to other computers or applications?  I can't seem to find very much information like this.  Thanks

3 Posts

February 6th, 2009 13:00

Did that fix the problem?  I am having this same freezing problem on a brand new (just a couple of days old) Inspiron Mini 9.

3 Posts