Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 13th, 2008 00:00

Mini 9 with ubuntu freezes

I bought and received a mini 9 with ubuntu about a month ago, and recently it has started freezing to where the only option is a hard reboot- not even Ctrl-Alt-Del works.  I am new to working with linux, and so have not had much luck in figuring out why it should be freezing, since there is no pattern to it- sometimes the mini freezes minutes after I turn it on, other times, an hour later.  However, if I turn it on and leave it on, it will freeze- and it tends to freeze more if I am not using it, when it is idle, though several times it has frozen while I have been working.

Everything I have heard of linux says that it is so stable, so I am really worried- is this a problem with my computer, or the operating system?  How can I tell, and how to fix it?

Computer is:  Inspiron Mini 9 with Ubuntu 8.0.4

1 Message

January 4th, 2010 17:00

I know this is an old post, but my mini 9 is pretty new. I got it on sale when the mini 10 was coming out. Would it freeze if I do not install the updates? My friend told me I did not need to install updates and it would just take up hard drive space.

37 Posts

January 5th, 2010 06:00

I installed all the updates on my Mini 9 and it still freezes sometimes.  The updated didn't change the occasional freeze ups.  It seems to freeze up after I use it for a long time.  I think it may be a heat problem.  The vent on the bottom gets blocked fairly easily.  Maybe it doesn't get enough air circulation.  Sometimes I prop the back of the it with a pen, to get better air circulation.  That seems to help.  I might try using some stick on rubber feet to make the computer sit higher.  That would also provide better air circulation.  It couldn't hurt and it's a cheap fix.