Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 21st, 2014 18:00

Dell Venue 8 Pro Frozen on Lock Screen

Greetings,

I have a new Venue 8 Pro with Windows 8.1. Was working fine and today it froze on the lock screen. If I let it sit the screen eventually goes blank like it might be trying to enter sleep mode but cannot. I have to do a hard shutdown in order to restart.

I am new to Windows 8 so perhaps there is an easy solution to this one. I did notice on the lock screen that there is a monitor looking icon with a red x on it. I am guessing this is telling me the problem but I can not find a reference for the icon.

Thanks for any assistance

480 Posts

August 21st, 2014 22:00

Have you tried pressing and holding the power button for 10 seconds to perform a hard shut down?

3 Posts

August 24th, 2014 16:00

Yep gave that a shot but unfortunately when it completes the boot cycle it ends up in the same unuseable state. Stuck on the lock screen. Have any idea what the little monitor looking icon is in the lower left hand corner? It has a red x on it which I am guessing is telling me the issue. Just dont know what it is in reference to.

Thanks for the response

10 Posts

December 10th, 2014 04:00

even i am facing the same problem. sometimes  it is freezing while unlocking? it . amen problem like yours . did you find a solution /

December 10th, 2014 06:00

You have to perform hard reset Venue 8 Pro. Here is tutorial how to do it http://factoryhardreset.com/dell-venue-pro-reset/. Also you can find more useful totorials. http://factoryhardreset.com 

3 Posts

December 10th, 2014 07:00

Greetings,

I was not able to find an "official" resolution to this issue but I will share what I found to resolve the issue and what I believe to be the issue. Again, I could not find confirmation of the root cause but it did fix the issue.