Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 14th, 2014 08:00

EMC Networker: Search the backups for a specific file?

Hi there,

EMC Networker noob here. I have this problem: A user is missing a file. They remember what it was called, e.g. "ABCDEF.txt" ... but they unfortunately can't remember the path, share, drive, etc. where this was stored.

Of course they now accuse us admins of not doing our job properly, of having "lost" that file (us??), and so on. How can I use the command line tools such as mminfo and nsrinfo to search the savesets, indexes and what not for that specific file?

I have googled around and found pages like this one, e.g.

Basics – Listing files in a backup » NetWorker Information Hub

http://nsrd.info/blog/2009/10/01/using-networker-for-live-search/

Basics – Listing files in a backup « NetWorker Blog

Is there any more elegant way this could be achieved than doing "nsrinfo ServerName | grep Filename" loops in bash or PowerShell ...?

Thank you in advance!

DJ.

4 Operator

• 

1.3K Posts

October 14th, 2014 23:00

DJ,

I would say Yes ! but you could add a -i with the grep and also redirect the out of this command to a file so that in case there are more than one file on one server the information is not lost because of the screen buffer capacity. so my recommendation - nsrinfo client_hostname | grep -i filename > /tmp/client_hostname.txt

8 Posts

October 14th, 2014 11:00

I managed to narrow the possible location of that file down to 8 x or so file servers where that affected user had access to. So ... if the file isn't on any of those file servers, then the missing file must have been locally on their laptop I guess?

So what I am doing now is 8 x "nsrinfo SRV001 | grep Filename", "nsrinfo SRV002 | grep Filename" etc. in different shell windows and I am leaving it running over the night.