Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 6th, 2015 12:00

EMC Neworker 8.2.1 & Exchange 2010 backup

Hello All -

Would anybody be able to help step me through configuring/fixing my backup? I have EMC Networker 8.2.1 and likewise for the NMM client.

I've inherited a broken backup of Excange 2010 - it doesn't work.  I've read through the EMC .pdf documents on "Exchange VSS" and "EMC networker 8.2.1." I'm new to the product which doesn't help. I've dug through discussions and googled suggestions, etc...

My Exchange environment is Exchange 2010, configured with a DAG : So 2 servers have a database, one active DB & one passive DB.

I am initially just setting up a backup on the one server that holds the active copy of the database.

The "NMM Config Checker" report on my exchange server looks clean.

On the EMC server, I've walked thru both the "Configuration -> Clients ->" GUI client wizard and by hand using 'properties' to edit....using the PDF files as a guideline.

One problem I see is that if I right click the client and pick "Check Snapshot Configuration" the response is "Required Attribute Missing".

I guess that's one of many issues.

Well, any help, or places to start - - or logs I can share....I'm open to it.

-thanks

Bob

2.4K Posts

October 6th, 2015 13:00

It would help if you post your settings for the client, especially in the Apps & Modules tab.

9 Posts

October 7th, 2015 08:00

Okay will post below.  For now I'd just like to succeed in whatever is the simplest backup, just to see something working.

Apps & Modules tab:

Backup command :  nsrsnap_vss_save

Application Information:

NSR_SNAP_TYPE=vss

CIRCULAR_PROMOTION_POLICY=Promote

NSR_ALT_PATH=e:\temp

NSR_EXCH2010_BACKUP=active

NSR_EXCH2010_DAG=sgdag.mycompany.com

NSR_EXCH_CHECK=no

If I go to "Monitoring" and pick the exchange server and view the failed messages from last night I have a lot of feedback but most of it I do not understand.