Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 7th, 2015 05:00

How to properly create multiple clients with different save sets and media pools?

Hello everyone,

Please bare with me as I'm still very new to this application and finding it very hard to get the simplest tasks performed (huge learning curve to this application).

Networker Version: 8.1 Build. 162

Presently, I have clients configured with appropriate groups and schedules that use a specific mdeia pool. I would like to setup a duplicate client (same client but different save sets to backup) and send that data to a different media pool so I can send those tapes for offisite storage.

When I tried to configure a new/duplicate client(right-click client and selected "New Client Wizard"  , but using the same name, I lost my index for the original client I had configured and had to restore them after I deleted the duplicate client.

Example:

A) Client1.domain.com | Save Set: *FULL* | Group: Head Office | Schedule: Defaut

B) Client1.doamin.com | Save Set: D:\ | Group: Offsite | Schedule: Offsite

When I configure the above, I lost all my indexes for client "A" when I tried runing a group configure with client "B".

What is the proper way to configure a duplicate client but with different save sets and configured to use diffrent media pools without losing your indexes? The only way I can see a way to configure a specific media pool is through the client configuration and I'm not sure if I'm going about this the proper way.

Any help and/or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mike

2.4K Posts

April 7th, 2015 06:00

Well - experience takes some time. Even after years, we are still leaning.

Keep in mind that it is also somehow important to let us know the version. It does not make sense to advise you if you can not do this due to an older NW version. I assume that you are running something like NW 7.4 ... 7.6.