Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 27th, 2014 14:00

Is there a backup API?

I'm looking after a Windows 2008 R2 server which is backed up with Networker.  Unfortunately, the Networker backup client doesn't seem to perform well when doing full backups on volumes with many files (about 14 million in my case, mostly small).  This seems to be mainly because it iterates through the directory structure reading only a single file at a time, so the overhead of opening each file adds up.  (I'm seeing backup times around 17ms-20ms per file; the overall quantity of data doesn't seem to make much difference.)

I'm a competent enough programmer to write software that reads the data off the disk more efficiently, but that's no good without somewhere to back it up to.  Is there any sort of API that would allow me to send the data to the networker server from my application?  Or some way to plug into the backup client and present my own view of the file system?

(In the meantime, I'm investigating whether reordering the data on disk to more closely follow the order in which the files are backed up, or splitting the data into multiple volumes, will help; other suggestions are welcome.)

2 Intern

• 

14.3K Posts

Did you try to use block based backup option?

No, we don't have a license for that.  It may be an option in the future.

November 27th, 2014 15:00

PSS looks like the proper solution.  We're running 8.1 at the moment, but presumably we'll be moving to 8.2 in due course.  (Do you happen to know whether an 8.2 Windows client can do PSS with an 8.1 server?)

2.4K Posts

There are a lot of general guidelines you should follow:

- Never use tapes for such a backup scenario. If the tape must reposition, it will cause extra delays.

- Use a DD with DDBoost instead

- Block based backups is an alternative                         but before you do anything else, may I suggest you