Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 19th, 2012 11:00

Learn about Networker

Hi all,

I am new to networker, but not to backup world.  I have experience working with Veritas Netbackup/TSM (5 years +).

Could someone help to suggest some starting point to get a good hold of basic concepts of Networker (like basic architecture, setup, modules which are par to networker, important files and logs location for troubleshooting).

I did gone through some documents from powerlink, but i wanted to have suggessions from you all (where, what, how, and why).

Thanks and appreciate your kind help.

- sriram

2 Intern

• 

14.3K Posts

Ah, I fogot one part.  NetWorker has several databases and most important are:

• res - or resource database (this is where configuraion lives)
  • index - this where each file which has been backed up for your client is stored - for how long it stay inside dependes on browse policy
  • mm - media database which contains information about where you backup set (save set) went (which media and location within media) and for how long data is retained depends on retention policy

Logs are places withing logs folder and these days to read them you need to render them with nsr_render_log tool if reading so called raw log. Usually all backup/restore actions are logged within daemon.raw. Configuration changes are logged within rap.log, but this logging is not enabled by default (can be done from server resource itself in GUI for example).

240 Posts

Hello Sriram and Welcome to Networker!

The best place for accessing the documentations for NetWorker is on EMC Powerlink. Go to http://powerlink.emc.com and login. If you do not have an account yet, you should be able to create one.

Once you have logged in, look for Support in the bar about a quarter of the way down. Hover over support and a drop down menu shows up. Go to the following path: