Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 14th, 2015 12:00

Need help with specific Networker Media Reporting - Scripts?

Hello ECN'ers,

I hope everyone is doing well.

I'm not good with scripts, but they're useful at times and was wondering if anyone can help me...

I need help with scripts and or reports that will help me on a daily basis to identify what tapes need to be removed from the tape library on a daily basis and what one’s should be retrieved from offsite.

Script to deposit tapes, set location and recycle them to the proper media pools.

Script to Export the previous days backups.

Report to show (and is emailed) the previous days backup successes and failures.

Report to show (and is emailed) tapes need from “off-site” to be recycled.

Does anyone have any scripts I can modify, or help me?

Thank in advance.

215 Posts

July 14th, 2015 19:00

I have one that is interactive and your welcome to try.

It is shell script so must run on either a Linux based server or Linux based Networker client.

4 Operator

• 

1.3K Posts

July 15th, 2015 00:00

Here is the tape management script that i used in my previous organizations. its a perl script so in case you are on windows you will have to install Perl and also do some minor modifications. There is one for SILO based JB and one for normal SCSI attached JB.

2 Attachments

10 Posts

July 15th, 2015 05:00

Hi Adam,

Thanks for the reply!

Sure; I'll have a look at it and keep it handy.  The environment in question is ALL windows based, so I need a windows script, but wouldn't mind having something handy for Linux roll outs.

Thanks again

10 Posts

crazyrov,

Thanks much for the reply and scripts.  Can you tell me a bit more of what outputs they can produce?  What changes would I need to make for a windows environment?

Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

Ciao

10 Posts

I forgot to mention in my original post that the current environment is purely windows based.