Browse Community
Language
Help
Sign In
Posts
Users
Search
vramos1
updated
9 years ago
1 Message
0
1761
October 27th, 2017 07:00
Is there a risk on backing up with Networker a disk that is being deduplicated by Windows?
What if NW is connected to a DataDomain?
Responses (1)
Solutions (0)
camilg
1213
Posted March 12th, 2018 14:00
There is an article where they explain a possible Data loss when recovering individual files from a backed up Windows Server 2012 deduplication volume. (link to the article below)
https://support.emc.com/kb/453689
According to the article is safe to backup Windows Deduplicated volumes if you use the following string
VSS:NSR_DEDUP_NON_OPTIMIZED=yes
** For Networker 8.x
Within NMC navigate to:
Confiiguration> Clients > right click on clients>properties> Apps & Modules>Save operations box
Add the string
All Windows Server 2012 deduplication volumes will be backed up unoptimized, and will be recoverable, when this flag is set
**Also be aware of the changes in your backup after turning off the optimization, as you may face increases in the amount of data backed up.
Self Repair, Upgrade & Maintain
Diagnostics and Tools
Drivers & Downloads
Solve
Customer Care
3
1
Alienware
37
4
Tablets & Mobile Devices
23
Dell Pro Desktops
21
Dell Pro Max Laptops
34
View More
camilg
1 Message
1213
0
Posted March 12th, 2018 14:00
There is an article where they explain a possible Data loss when recovering individual files from a backed up Windows Server 2012 deduplication volume. (link to the article below)
https://support.emc.com/kb/453689
According to the article is safe to backup Windows Deduplicated volumes if you use the following string
VSS:NSR_DEDUP_NON_OPTIMIZED=yes
** For Networker 8.x
Within NMC navigate to:
Confiiguration> Clients > right click on clients>properties> Apps & Modules>Save operations box
Add the string
VSS:NSR_DEDUP_NON_OPTIMIZED=yes
All Windows Server 2012 deduplication volumes will be backed up unoptimized, and will be recoverable, when this flag is set
**Also be aware of the changes in your backup after turning off the optimization, as you may face increases in the amount of data backed up.