Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 10th, 2010 14:00

1500 Draft 802.11n Linux

Hi all,

I am brand New to Linux so I basically no nothing about how to use it.

I just installed Mint Isadora and I am looking for a driver for the Dell 1500 Draft 802.11n wireless card. I have found lots of information about it but nothing substantiol about getting it to work.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

October 10th, 2010 15:00

try asking over at  http://forums.linuxmint.com/

unless your wifi card is recognized "out of the box", you may have to do some work; it may require you to use the Terminal; be prepared

11 Posts

October 11th, 2010 14:00

Lets look at this for a moment.

Dell has changed the firmware so they can use it with there system. So broadcom no longer can support it. If you ask Broadcom they will tell you to go to Dell. If you go to any Linux distro they will say it's not supported so you should ask Dell.  So I now go to Dell and you say go to a Distro. 

So tell me, who would be getting the run around and who is avoiding trying to come up with a solution.

I am sure someone out here has run into the same problem and might have found a work around.

So lets avoid the obvious quick answer with no solution and see if others might have solutions and not dead ends.

Yes, I know that Ubuntu will have the drivers soon but I am being impatient and would like to have it working now.

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

October 12th, 2010 07:00

Dell has changed the firmware so they can use it with there system.

HUH????

Lets look at this for a moment.

Dell has changed the firmware so they can use it with there system. So broadcom no longer can support it. If you ask Broadcom they will tell you to go to Dell. If you go to any Linux distro they will say it's not supported so you should ask Dell.  So I now go to Dell and you say go to a Distro.