Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 17th, 2011 19:00

Dumb Questions re Wireless

I have never used wireless internet on a laptop before and am about to go overseas with my laptop. The hotel has Wifi available but I have no idea how to access it from my computer.  Is there stuff that I have to set up first or is there a program already on the laptop that I just have to run.  I have a S510502AU1-Inspiron 1545 with a Dell Wireless 1397 802.11b/g Half Mini Card. Is this all I need, what do i need to do to get this set up?

Thanks for helping out someone who knows nothing about wireless.

5 Posts

August 18th, 2011 00:00

thanks Jack that's great, I'm actually running on XP not Vista so I'm hoping it will be as easy as you say.  Will go home tonight and give it a go.  Many thanks

6.4K Posts

I'm happy to have been of help.  Best of luck to you and wishes for a safe and enjoyable trip.

6.4K Posts

I believe I can answer some of your questions, and perhaps someone more knowledgeable will pop in later.

To begin, the wireless card must be enabled, but it may be already enabled by default.  If you see an icon in your system tray (lower right corner of your screen usually) that appears to be a computer monitor with parentheses to the right of it, it is most likely already on and looking for a signal.  From your computer model you are probably running Vista, so I'm not sure how close the process will be to mine as I run Windows XP.  If my card has not been enabled I can go to the start menu, click on Show All Connections, and enable the card from there.  It can also usually be enabled from the control panel by using the Connections icon.