Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 26th, 2009 01:00

Inspiron mini 1010 (10v) ip gateway ping test failed

Greetings Cyberworld!

My gateway IP ping failed for the Dell Wireless WLAN Card Utility version A24.  I use a Dell Wireless 1510 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-Card Rev. 4.02 with a chipset at BCM 432b / BCM 32056000.  My MAC address is 00:26:5E:1B:77:6A.  I use software version 5.10.79.7 with the same driver and supplicant versions.

The radio, association, authentication, and local IP address connection diagnostic tests passed.  When it arrives at the gateway IP ping test, it fails, then skips the rest of the diagnostic tests, like the internet IP ping, the DNS IP ping, and the internet website domain name ping.

For reference: Windows XP OS.  I am a student that uses many various networks daily.  In use currently is an Actiontec DSL modem with wireless gateway by Qwest and a Netgear 54 Mbps wireless router WGR614 v7. 

Currently, my wireless reads as the following: SSID: (ACTIONTEC), Speed: 54 Mbps, Signal: Excellent, Status: Connected, and Address: 196.254.209.32.  Yet, I cannot get onto the net through it.  My browser is Mozilla Firefox, by the way, if that makes a difference.

So in summary: I don't have a gateway IP address or a client IPv6 address, but I do have a client MAC IP address and a client IP address.  I hope I haven't left out any details for anybody.

The wireless router/AP for your network is either unavailable, not working, or is disconnected. You will not be able to connect to the Internet, although you might be able to connect to your local network. Contact your network administrator or wireless router/AP installer for assistance.

Customer Support:
            www.support.dell.com

Thank you very much!

Kevinbell4

2 Posts

October 26th, 2009 11:00

Hey!

So I've disconnected everything from the wall outlet at the same time to see if that helped: nothing.  Now what?

Thanks all ya'll!

Kevin Bell

2 Posts