Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

RB

November 29th, 2008 00:00

Need advice on add'l hard drive

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum and would appreciate any advice on adding an additional HD to my desktop PC (either internal or external). I bought a Dell in December 2006.  It's a Dell  XPS/Dimension 410/9200 (DXP061) with 2 -250GB (Samsung SP2504C's) hard drives (configured in RAID 0).  The processor is Intel (R) Core (TM) 2 CPU 6700 !2.66 GHz.  The interface is SATA 3.0 Gbps and rotational speed is 7200rpm. There are 6 Serial ATA ports (SATA).  I mainly use the computer for creating DVD movies (using Movie Maker, Photostoryand MyDVD LE) from photo's and video for family and friends. I've been converting all my old Sony 8mm tapes to AVI files and want to use RAID 1 so I have a backup so the new hard drive needs to be at least 500Gb as I have already used almost 320 Gb on my current system.  I'd also like to use the SATA connection as it sounds like the fastest way to do a back up of a lot of data.  So, I'm looking at reviews on the Seagate Barracuda 7200 1 TB internal HD for $100 and also the external 1 TB Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II for about $280.  I'm not real comfortable with installing an internal HD and kind of like the idea of the external HD so I can take it to the lake when I work from there on my laptop.   I have no idea if my "motherboard" is SATA compliant and if so what the interface speed is on it.  Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

3.4K Posts

November 29th, 2008 08:00

Hello,

I don't quite understand.

You list the full specs of your 9200 including the SATA specs. But at the end you say that you don't know if the motherboard is SATA compliant.

Explain what you really want to know and we can help. Adding a hard drive to a desktop system is very easy.

November 29th, 2008 10:00

Thanks for the quick reply. I wasn't sure if the specs I'm listing are for the