Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 15th, 2009 13:00

Need to cancel delayed order...leaving the country for school!

Hello all! I'm posting here hoping to get some advice regarding my current situation. I ordered a Dell Studio XPS 16 on July 23rd 2009 and I was approved for Dell financing (I am a student and don't have the upfront money so financing was perfect) so no money has offically exchanged hands.  Now the problem is my ship date has been delayed from August 10th 2009 (which has subsequently passed) to September 3rd 2009 according to the CSR I corresponded with but I am set to the leave the country for school September 1st!

I have contacted Dell customer support and asked them for an update on my laptop and whether I could cancel my order due to Dell's delay issues. I figured over a month should be subsequent time to order a laptop and avoid the back to school rush but unfortunately I was wrong. It is compeltely unreasonable for Dell to not cancel my order when it is there own delay/part shortage issues that weren't stated at the time of purchase. I cannot leave it up to chance whether I will recieve my laptop in time and since Dell cannot give me an accurate shipping date I NEED this order cancelled ASAP!  It is completely unreasonable to expect the customer, myself in this instance, to not have the option to cancel an order because it is "in production" when they are waiting for parts neccessary to even complete production! Any information on how to cancel this order would be greatly appreciated! Please don't say just wait for it come and return it because I will not be in the country it was ordered from and it is not really an option!

Thank you!

Matt

7 Posts

August 15th, 2009 14:00

Ah that's what I thought you meant Mary! Thank you for the optimism :emotion-1: Hopefully someone from Dell sees this otherwise I'll have to try and keep calling Dell and get this resolved! 

7 Posts