Start a Conversation

Unsolved

Closed

DO

17 Posts

May 10th, 2023 15:00

Wondering about a vintage computer for vintage WP5.1 DOS

Unfortunately, the forum options here are very limited, but I'll give this a try.

I have a very old computer mostly used for the antiquated Word Perfect 5.1 DOS for word processing, not hooked up to the internet, just for text.  It was custom-assembled for me by a friend who liked to tinker for fun, and it's about 30 years old. 

It's finally dying, though, and I'm looking for a replacement--but also something now obsolete:  A computer that has both an A-Drive for floppies and a USB port. These were being made probably about a decade ago, apparently especially by Dell.  It would be hard enough just to find any floppy-USB combination, but it's even harder to find one to accommodate WP5.1.  And even harder because I'm not a techie myself, and I don't know the language. 

So I'm hoping for something with both an A-drive and a USB port (preferably in front), preferably weighing under 28 pounds, that would be able to have WP5.1, Corel 11, Microsoft Word (preferably an older version), and Excel.  I've discovered that Dell made some models maybe about 10-15 years ago, supposedly Optiplex, Inspiron, and Precision, but there is no more general forum for asking this.  In any case, I don't know the difference between them, whether they could be used for WP5.1, or how to choose between them.

What questions should I be asking?  I'd be grateful for any guidance. 

5 Practitioner

• 

4.8K Posts

May 10th, 2023 17:00

You don't need to have both requirements.  As long as you can find a machine that works with your software, you can add a USB floppy drive to the system.

1 Rookie

• 

103 Posts

May 11th, 2023 08:00