Go to Solution

November 17th, 2011 15:00

ASM & Thin Provisioning Scenario

Givens:

• New LUNs/ASM disks are provisioned to this host for the 1st time
  • A new ASM data disk group was created
  • A DB has NOT been created (yet) using the new ASM data disk group
  • Thin LUN

Assumption: Because I created a new ASM data disk group, the contents of the data disk group are automatically reclaimable since I did not create a DB and add data files. So except for the small amount of meta-data at the start of the ASM disk group the rest are continuous zeros which allows for space to be reclaimed, correct?

Goal: In using virtual provisioning and thin LUNs as a DBA I want to be able to allocate more disk space than is physically available. To that end the database will be configured with minimum free space and use the auto-extend to dynamically grow as needed. In this scenario there should be no need for ASRU or the symmetric zero space reclamation functionality unless the assumption is incorrect and the ASM disk group is not continuous zeros.

Thanks for your help!

15 Posts

December 5th, 2011 08:00

I also found Paul's response very good. Here are my comments:

"Assumption: Because I created a new ASM data disk group, the contents of the data disk group are automatically reclaimable since I did not create a DB and add data files. So except for the small amount of meta-data at the start of the ASM disk group the rest are continuous zeros which allows for space to be reclaimed, correct?"