Start a Conversation

Unsolved

E

23 Posts

May 7th, 2020 14:00

Dell R620 Cachecade SSD drive does not have any activity at all ?

Dear All , 

I am quite new to this server stuff so please be patient with me , Thank you 

I have a raid 6 with 4 X 5TB drives on my R620 dell server (and a few other raids beyond that particular raid 6)  , 

In order to increase performance, because my virtualized windows server 2016 is running very slow , I insted an SSD of 250GB as a cachecade on the dell R620 with RAID controller model  PERC H710 Mini 

so I still haven't seen any performance boost or any difference whatsoever , what I am doing wrong ? I set the drive as cachecade from the boot menu though the DOS like interface prior to boot , 

are there any other things I should do ? 

and lastly should I upgrade to a better raid card with 1GB of RAM ? will that help ? 
Thank you in advance 

• 

3.4K Posts

May 7th, 2020 19:00

Hi,

Have you access into your RAID controller H710 and configure the cachecade virtual disk? Here the controller manual for your reference to create it. https://dell.to/2LbNAmM

23 Posts

May 8th, 2020 00:00

Dear Sir , @DELL-Joey C 

yes I did setup my SSD as Cache and indeed I did create the virtual disk that is named Cache from the Raid controller setup screen as per the manual you send me (you can see at the attached picture)

Thank you in advance 

Edge_Ripper_0-1588923605335.png

• 

3.4K Posts

May 8th, 2020 02:00

Hi,

I'm not very sure of your setup and configurations for cachecade performance. 

Before hand, in the RAID controller setup, are you able to see the cachecade disk group? If yes, the controller is setup correctly and perform as intended. You may not see significant differences until the controller calculates file access frequency. 

Reference: https://dell.to/2Ld6bPc