Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

May 21st, 2018 13:00

How to increase storage capacity on PERC h710 Raid 1 array by replacing drives, not adding drives

I never had the chance to increase the storage capacity of an existing raid array up until now so I’m quite new at this process. Please excuse my noob questions.

I need to increase the storage capacity of a raid 1 array on a PowerEdge T420 with a PERC H710 controller. All other bays are used with other raid arrays, but the one in question consists of two 4TB (ST4000NM0024-1HT178) drives and one 4TB dedicated spare and will be hopefully upgrading to 8TB (ST8000NM0055) drives.

My question is, how can I (if possible) upgrade/replace the existing drives to higher capacity ones? After doing some research it seems possible to do this using the reconfigure option in OMSA(?) without having to recreate the raid array and restoring the data, though everything I found online was about expanding the storage capacity by adding drives to an array and not replacing the existing ones.

Can anyone confirm that what I would like to do is possible with the given hardware/configuration?  if so, does it matter which of the three (including the spare) should re replaced first? If this is doable, I'm guessing I should replace one of the mirror drives first and wait for the rebuild process to finish before moving onto the next mirror drive and then the spare(?)

I would greatly appreciate it if someone can provide a detailed (step by step) solution to this problem if possible.

Also, can anyone confirm that the H710, with the latest firmware, supports the 8TB drive i plan to use?

Thanks in advance.

• 

8.7K Posts

May 21st, 2018 14:00

Hi,