Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 28th, 2011 19:00

PowerEdge 2650 SCSI/RAID Setup Help

I recently tried to set up an old PowerEdge 2650 that I received about a year ago and I need help getting the hard drives set up using the SCSISelect utility. This is my first time working with a server so I'm not extremely knowledgeable on getting the hard drives set up. The SCSI controller card is an Adaptec AIC-7899. I also believe there's a RAID controller card installed as well. There are four 18gb hard drives installed. In addition to this, I have a solid amber light showing on the front LCD screen, and I'm not sure how to troubleshoot it.

If anyone can shed some light on either these things I would really appreciate it!

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

Assuming you want to use the RAID controller, boot to BIOS Setup (F2) and make sure that under Integrated Devices the Embedded RAID is Enabled.

Then boot to CTRL-A for the PERC (Poweredge Expandable Raid Controller) and delete the current RAID container configuration, then create a new RAID container (array).

Once this is complete, you should be able to install your OS.  Keep in mind, you will likely need to load the RAID driver at the appropriate place for the OS that you are installing.  You could, alternatively, use the SBUU (Systems Build and Update Utility) to install the OS, which would bypass the need for RAID configuration in CTRL-A and loading the RAID driver.

The LCD panel will turn to amber when there is an error and it will scroll an error message explaining the reason for the amber light.  What is the error code(s)/message(s) that are scrolling across the panel?  Keep in mind that it will do this if the lid/cover is not on the server, and if set so in the BIOS, it will also do it if the front bezel is removed.

10 Posts