Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 15th, 2015 14:00

Replacing hard drives

Dear all,

I'm new to working with servers, raid's and hard drives that can be hot swappable. In our organisation we have two servers. Both in Raid 5 and on Poweredge 2950. One server was one month ago showing a failed hard drive, the other one is showing a removed hard drive, both in the open manage server administrator.

On the server that showed failed hard drive I took it out and put it back in to see if it would rebuild. It did but the size of the raid is not back to extended so it must have failed and now I will replace it. However I would like to ask you if I need to do any step in the server before I physically replace it?

On the other server. Which step do I follow so it sees the hard drive and adds it to the raid?

One final question. In the virtual disk info I saw that I can do a consistency check on the drives. If I start that, will that interfere with working with these servers (meaning should I do it after work hours)? Can there be any problems doing that? If regularly, how often should I do that?

Thanks for help about these!

Nitman

• 

6.2K Posts

March 15th, 2015 17:00

Hello

On the server that showed failed hard drive I took it out and put it back in to see if it would rebuild. It did but the size of the raid is not back to extended so it must have failed and now I will replace it. However I would like to ask you if I need to do any step in the server before I physically replace it?

I'm not following you here, what do you mean by "the size of the raid is not back to extended"? The size of the array should not change if a drive fails. The virtual disk size is a constant regardless of drive status. If a drive fails that would cause the virtual disk size to be smaller then the disk does not contain redundant data and the array will go into a failed state.