Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 11th, 2014 01:00

Server Newbie having problems installing windows small business server 2008 on PE 840

Hello, I'm new to servers and the Dell community. I have been searching the forum for 2 days in search of some answers to my problem.

Through reading on this forum I have found out that I needed to download the system build and update utility cdu_1.6_core_173_A01  also the OM_5.2.0_ISM_A00.ISO so I did and i got the 840 to boot the utility disk. "at this point you can imagine my excitement" But... when i went through all the steps that went as seemed correct leading up to the point where I had to choice the OS I couldn't see my OS in the list. so I tried what seemed to be maybe the closest.....and no luck. Got wrong media error. I'm sure I'm just doing something wrong or have not downloaded the correct disk but I'm hoping someone can help.  

the disk I have  is

Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2008 Standard Edition

• License Type:Media Only
  • License Pricing:Volume

Marketing Information

Windows Small Business Server 2008 incorporates best-of-breed product technologies to deliver a fully integrated environment that helps small businesses protect business data, increase productivity, and present a more professional image to customers. Windows Small Business Server 2008 combines several server technologies under one Microsoft license.

General Information

• Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation
  • Manufacturer Part Number: T72-02402
  • Manufacturer Website Address: www.microsoft.com
  • Product Name: Windows Small Business Server 2008 Standard Edition
  • Product Type: Operating System
  • Brand Name: Microsoft

Product Information

• Software Sub Type: Server
  • Software Name: Windows Small Business Server 2008 Standard Edition
  • Features:
  • Strong IT Foundation
  • Messaging and Collaboration
  • Collaboration and Productivity
  • E-mail Security