Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 27th, 2011 01:00

Windows SBS 2011 and T310 drivers

I'm fairly new with Dell servers. I have more experience with HP servers. HP has a management tool to gather all drivers for a specific server model and OS. I assumed Dell would have something similar, but as far as I can see, it hasn't. So I headed to the support pages, entered the servicetag of the machine and a list of downloads was presented. Most items are pretty obvious, but the section "System management" contains quite some files, a lot of them quite big too. I can download them all to see if it contains what I need, but that would take quite some time.

So what do I need? Well, SBS2011 came pre-installed - in BIOS mode. I want the server to use UEFI, which renders the existing SBS installation useless. As mentioned in another post, you can't boot with the 'Systems management' DVD when the server is set to UEFI. So I installed SBS2011 from the product dvd. Most drivers, if not all, are filled in by Windows. However, Windows drivers are mostly basic drivers and it's common to replace them with the manufacturers drivers. Do I find those drivers in one of the files listed in the section "System management"? And if so, which files do I need?

In other words, How do I update the drivers and which files do I need to do that?

BTW: SBS2011 uses Windows Server 2008 R2 x64.

Simon

802 Posts

September 27th, 2011 07:00

Simon,

We have a SUU (System Update Utility) available for download.  It does require a dual layer DVD and merging 3 different download images.  The has all the updates for all the different server models.  Here is a link to that option from our support pages.