Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 21st, 2009 04:00

Powervault disk config options

Apologies if this has been asked before, but I'm a powervault newbie.

I've just bought an NF500 with 6* SATA 750GB drives with two Perc 6/i controllers.  I'd like it configured with a small c: drive (say 100GB) and the rest as one large data partition, running under RAID5.  We're running Windows Storage Server R3 (65 bit). 

Currently its configured as a single disk group, with two <2TB Virtual disks, both RAID5, across the single disk group. On the 1st VD there is the c: and a d: drive, and then the 2nd VD contains a single e: drive.

If it is possilbe to do what I want, can the system be reconfigured without blowing away the OS, ie can I resive VD 1 and then create VD 2 from the remaing free space?

Thanks in advance

172 Posts

January 21st, 2009 08:00

Your comment is correct, you can create a RAID 5 volume with all 6 drives and then a VD on top of that that only uses 100GB.  The PERC controller will only show a 100GB volume to the OS, how the disk is built is hidden from Windows.  The only problem is that you will need to reinstall the OS for this.  When a VD is created it cannot be resized.

The 100GB can be used to install the OS without any problems but, you may need to install the OS first and them create the second larger than 2TB VD.  The presence of a >2TB volume may present some problem for Win2003 installation, even if it is not the boot volume. 

3 Posts

January 22nd, 2009 09:00

Thanks, that worked a treat.  I had to use DiskPart once the disk was created to set it to GPT, the option wasn't available within the UI.

3 Posts

January 21st, 2009 06:00

okay, apologies if this is a stupid question, but I want to make sure I've totally understood my options.