Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

September 12th, 2011 17:00

SDRF/S and DWDM

Hi, I have a question. I'm thinking about using SRDF/S between two sites that are more than 200km apart. I understand that a DWDM solution may allow this to happen.  I am by no means a DWDM expert.  From what I have read, DWDM increases SRDF distances, roughly doubling how far you can use SRDF/S.  Some implementations also use write acceleration and buffer to buffer credit spoofing to improve performance as well.  I’m not sure if multiplexing multiple FC lambdas makes sense, given that the issue we are going to have is (probably) bound to response time rather than throughput.

So I have three questions:

1. Can I use DWDM to multiplex multiple FC lambdas, or do the lambdas have to be of various transports?
  2. If the issue is with IO latency and not bandwidth, does the DWDM solution make any difference at all?  Is there any point in using it, other than the fact that it's already sitting on our dark fibre network?
  3. Does write acceleration and buffer-to-buiffer credit spoofing "break" the SRDF/S model?  Is that considered a semi-synchronous replication model is using DWDM hardware to accelrate these kinds of writes?

Thanks.  First time posting.

April 27th, 2012 02:00

Hi,

Welcome to EMC support forums ,

Let me try and get some information on this.

Thanks

Vanitha

108 Posts

April 30th, 2012 05:00

Can I use DWDM to multiplex multiple FC lambdas, or do the lambdas have to be of various transports?