col288
1 Nickel

Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

The topic is a bit odd and not sure where to put it but here is the situation.

I have a Power edge 515. I has two Gb Nic.

I noticed on my DHCP server a hostname called idrac-1SNMFP1.  I have never see this before. It just sort of appeared. I ping it and it comes back that its alive and on the network, with a ip of 10.1.0.55.

I searched around and found that idrac stands for "integrated dell remote access controller. "

Ok so I go to my dell servers and with "ping 10.1.0.55 -t" on one computer start carefully pulling nw cables on the servers where I can for a second or two. I see that one of the servers indeed is the IP address.  I can go into the lcd and see that this is the ip address of this servers maintenance port.

I have set up open manage on this server. Here are my questions?

1. Why did the server called idrac-etc not show up on my dhcp server before (from what I can see anyway.)

2. Is this ip address only changeable in the bios of the server. I cant see anywhere to change it in the openmanage software. Am I going to have to reboot this server to change it and can I change the name to something more friendly.

3. Why is it that I cannot get to the server from an IP address. What I mean by this is

If I put in ;

https://backup2:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

I can get to the server (its called backup2).

But if I put in the ip address eg https://10.1.0.55:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

It does not. This is the maintenance IP.

However if I put in the IP address of the server the one eg https://10.1.0.41:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

This works.

Finally

4. The two network cards that are in the server are teamed together to create one ip 10.1.0.41 They both seem to be working.

Can the two cards still be teamed BUT have two IP addresses. Cause it looks like I have 10.1.0.41 and 10.1.0.55 since both of them are ping able. I thought teaming put together the two cards so it became one nic but faster, because its two. 

 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

Hello col288

1. Why did the server called idrac-etc not show up on my dhcp server before (from what I can see anyway.)

I don't know. I suspect something about your environment or configuration changed.

2. Is this ip address only changeable in the bios of the server. I cant see anywhere to change it in the openmanage software. Am I going to have to reboot this server to change it and can I change the name to something more friendly.

You can change it from the iDRAC BIOS via CTL E during boot, through the iDRAC web interface, or by using racadm commands within the operating system. http://en.community.dell.com/techcenter/systems-management/w/wiki/3205.racadm-command-line-interface...

3. Why is it that I cannot get to the server from an IP address. What I mean by this is

If I put in ;

https://backup2:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

I can get to the server (its called backup2).

But if I put in the ip address eg https://10.1.0.55:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

It does not. This is the maintenance IP.

However if I put in the IP address of the server the one eg https://10.1.0.41:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

This works.

Finally

This is because that IP address is not local to the server operating system. Port 1311 is an IPMI communication port to access the iDRAC. You can use any IP address assigned to the operating system, a loopback address, or a hostname of the system with port 1311 designation and it will communicate to the iDRAC via IPMI. The 10.1.0.55 IP address is not local to the operating system, so it goes out to your network and searches for it. The iDRAC is not accessible via port 1311 from remote connections. That port is only accessible locally. If you use https://10.1.0.55 it should bring up the web page for the iDRAC.

4. The two network cards that are in the server are teamed together to create one ip 10.1.0.41 They both seem to be working.

Can the two cards still be teamed BUT have two IP addresses. Cause it looks like I have 10.1.0.41 and 10.1.0.55 since both of them are ping able. I thought teaming put together the two cards so it became one nic but faster, because its two. 

Teaming has nothing to do with this. Teaming is handled by the driver and operating system. The iDRAC IP address(10.1.0.55) is either on a shared port with one of the LAN on motherboards or it has it's own dedicated port. If it is shared then one of the LOMs are partitioned so that some bandwidth is dedicated to the iDRAC. If you purchased the enterprise add-on and have the iDRAC set to dedicated mode then it is using it's own network interface. The iDRAC port has a wrench symbol on it.

Thanks

Daniel Mysinger
Dell EMC, Enterprise Engineer

Get support on Twitter @DellCaresPRO

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

I am unfamiliar with iDrac is it different than Openmanage?

Yes, the iDRAC is a piece of hardware that performs the function of a baseboard management controller. It also provides advanced remote management features. OMSA is an application that allows communication via IPMI to the iDRAC/BMC to monitor and manage hardware from within an operating system.

Do I need to set this up? It obviously has take an ip address but cant seem to access it. I have tried both locally and remotely on several browsers.

Yes, it may need to be configured. Boot into the iDRAC BIOS to configure the network settings to ensure it routes properly(CTL E during boot). If the iDRAC is shared with one of the LAN on motherboard interfaces then you will likely not be able to access it from the server. Most switches don't handle communication from and to the same interface well. You will need to connect to it from another computer on the LAN.

Thanks

Daniel Mysinger
Dell EMC, Enterprise Engineer

Get support on Twitter @DellCaresPRO

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Moderator
Moderator

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

Hello col288

1. Why did the server called idrac-etc not show up on my dhcp server before (from what I can see anyway.)

I don't know. I suspect something about your environment or configuration changed.

2. Is this ip address only changeable in the bios of the server. I cant see anywhere to change it in the openmanage software. Am I going to have to reboot this server to change it and can I change the name to something more friendly.

You can change it from the iDRAC BIOS via CTL E during boot, through the iDRAC web interface, or by using racadm commands within the operating system. http://en.community.dell.com/techcenter/systems-management/w/wiki/3205.racadm-command-line-interface...

3. Why is it that I cannot get to the server from an IP address. What I mean by this is

If I put in ;

https://backup2:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

I can get to the server (its called backup2).

But if I put in the ip address eg https://10.1.0.55:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

It does not. This is the maintenance IP.

However if I put in the IP address of the server the one eg https://10.1.0.41:1311/servlet/OMSAStart?mode=omsa&vid=207122207229892

This works.

Finally

This is because that IP address is not local to the server operating system. Port 1311 is an IPMI communication port to access the iDRAC. You can use any IP address assigned to the operating system, a loopback address, or a hostname of the system with port 1311 designation and it will communicate to the iDRAC via IPMI. The 10.1.0.55 IP address is not local to the operating system, so it goes out to your network and searches for it. The iDRAC is not accessible via port 1311 from remote connections. That port is only accessible locally. If you use https://10.1.0.55 it should bring up the web page for the iDRAC.

4. The two network cards that are in the server are teamed together to create one ip 10.1.0.41 They both seem to be working.

Can the two cards still be teamed BUT have two IP addresses. Cause it looks like I have 10.1.0.41 and 10.1.0.55 since both of them are ping able. I thought teaming put together the two cards so it became one nic but faster, because its two. 

Teaming has nothing to do with this. Teaming is handled by the driver and operating system. The iDRAC IP address(10.1.0.55) is either on a shared port with one of the LAN on motherboards or it has it's own dedicated port. If it is shared then one of the LOMs are partitioned so that some bandwidth is dedicated to the iDRAC. If you purchased the enterprise add-on and have the iDRAC set to dedicated mode then it is using it's own network interface. The iDRAC port has a wrench symbol on it.

Thanks

Daniel Mysinger
Dell EMC, Enterprise Engineer

Get support on Twitter @DellCaresPRO

0 Kudos
col288
1 Nickel

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

Thanks you for the answers. I am unfamiliar with iDrac is it different than Openmanage?

I did try before and tried again to connect using

https://10.1.0.55 but this does not work.

Do I need to set this up? It obviously has take an ip address but cant seem to access it. I have tried both locally and remotely on several browsers.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

I am unfamiliar with iDrac is it different than Openmanage?

Yes, the iDRAC is a piece of hardware that performs the function of a baseboard management controller. It also provides advanced remote management features. OMSA is an application that allows communication via IPMI to the iDRAC/BMC to monitor and manage hardware from within an operating system.

Do I need to set this up? It obviously has take an ip address but cant seem to access it. I have tried both locally and remotely on several browsers.

Yes, it may need to be configured. Boot into the iDRAC BIOS to configure the network settings to ensure it routes properly(CTL E during boot). If the iDRAC is shared with one of the LAN on motherboard interfaces then you will likely not be able to access it from the server. Most switches don't handle communication from and to the same interface well. You will need to connect to it from another computer on the LAN.

Thanks

Daniel Mysinger
Dell EMC, Enterprise Engineer

Get support on Twitter @DellCaresPRO

0 Kudos
col288
1 Nickel

RE: Open Manage - can it be used on a teamed nic.

Jump to solution

Great thanks.

I will take a look at it.

Regards

 

0 Kudos