Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 20th, 2014 10:00

Is there a Unisphere ssh login to access symcli?

We just deployed Unisphere for VMAX1.6.2.11 virtual appliance in our environment to configure our new VMAX 10k.

EMC pre-defined 100% of the storage as TDAT's but the 'Extend a Thin Pool' wizard is not working (spins forever "updating"). So, while I wait to hear back from support, I need to get my devices into pools using symaccess symconfigure. The Extend option when viewing the pool only allows creating new TDATs, not adding existing ones.

I can login to the appliance via SSH, but the only accounts that I can find credentials for don't have authority to run symcli. Can anyone point me in the right direction here? I've got a deadline of tomorrow to deploy 4tb of disks, and stuck on this.

FYI, I've got nearly 20 yrs symmetrix experience so I'm very familiar with symcli (to say the least!), but Unisphere is a new tool to me. I don't have any other Solutions Enabler installation that has access to the VMAX (we've deployed a new SAN for the VMAX) currently so Unisphere is my only window into the array right now.

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

November 20th, 2014 10:00

support would not give me the root password, so i booted into single user mode (very easy to do for Suse, google it.) and reset the root password myself.  I don't typically run symcli commands on the appliance itself because i have dedicated symcli systems for that but i wanted to be able to import device groups so that it's easier to look at performance.

11 Posts

November 20th, 2014 11:00