Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

May 24th, 2012 07:00

Lag between SYMCLI and SMC?

Hi,

I am new to the Symmetrix environment (VMAX-1, Enginuity 5875.249.188) and just trying to learn the basics at the moment. One thing a colleague of mine and I noticed is that the information available immediately upon execution of a command or task completion in SYMCLI does not show up in SMC. For example, in SYMCLI, using a Solutions Enabler, I just created 4 thin devices, bound them into a Meta and presented the new Meta to a host's storage group. The host sees the new LUN, able to use it w/o an issue. However when browsing the SG for this host in the SMC, the new LUN is not showing up. I was thinking there is some sort of a lag in refreshing the SMC, but almost 24 hrs later the new LUN is still not showing.

What could be the reasons for this and how can I make sure the info in SMC and CLI is in sync?

Thanks

Sergey

93 Posts

May 25th, 2012 00:00

Hi,

What is the SMC and SE version you are using?

You can perform a Refresh from the Symmetrix Management Console to get updates..

Regards

Amita

859 Posts

May 25th, 2012 02:00

Yes, SMC does polling and try to keep itself updated with the Symm Configuration but there are few things in SMC which may differ from SE. Since you are at 5875.249 code, I am assuming the SMAS version is 7.3.2 and higher? If SMC is at lower version then you can upgrade to this version as we have made lots of performance changes in 7.3.2.2

regards,

Saurabh

17 Posts

May 25th, 2012 07:00

Saurabh,

The version of the SMC we are using is 7.3.2.2

Thanks

Sergey

17 Posts

May 25th, 2012 07:00

Amita,

I did try hitting the refresh button multiple times and attempting to switch between viewing different storage groups in hopes that it would refresh the contents of the SG I was interested in. That did not help.

Sergey

2 Intern

• 

20.4K Posts

May 25th, 2012 10:00