Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 2nd, 2013 12:00

Celerra help running a perl script on control station

I am trying to collect performance data on an Celerra using Mitrend. I'm not very familiar with running scripts and the instructions for collecting the data are as follows below. I've placed the files on the Control Station (wasn't sure if they needed to be placed in particular directory) but not sure how to execute the scripts. I have no pearl experience and limited experience with executing command on a Celerra. Can someone walk me through how to run the commands below to collect the data required for the performance analaysis?

VNX File - Celerra (Pilot)

Step 1: Execute the collect-perfdata.pl script first on the VNX File / Celerra control station:

• perl collect-perfdata.pl

Step 2: Execute the collect.pl script, which will collect the performance data plus additional configuration data

• perl collect.pl

Step 3: Submit the results of the collect.pl script. Do not submit just the support materials or perfdata by itself. We require both results to generate an assessment.

Thank You

Terry

June 18th, 2014 07:00

I am able to get this running but I am curious does the collect-perf.pl turn collection on?   So do I need to run that then wait to run the collect.pl until a reasonable amount of time has past?   Also does the collect.pl turn the performance data collection off?  I ran them more or less back to back and only ended up collecting 4 intervals in the data that was collected.  Does anyone know for sure how it works?

June 18th, 2014 08:00

Just found the answer.  By default the collect-perf.pl runs for 2 days. 

300 second intervals (5 minutes) for 576 intervals (2 days)

July 8th, 2014 09:00

When running collect-perf.pl, make sure to keep your ssh terminal open. Otherwise the script will terminate when you close the ssh window.

You may also be able to nohup the command, to prevent it from terminating.