Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 25th, 2013 16:00

Issue with Storage Pools for File (Capacity Shown Is Incorrect - vnx5300)

./nas_version

7.1.47-5

Please bear with me as I'm new to EMC and Unisphere. 

- created block storage pool using 16x 3TB SATA disks in RAID6 pool

- initially created 4x 2TB LUNs with the same naming convention in the pool (SATA_POOL_0) and assigned them to the ~filestorage group (ignore the number of luns as i'm just testing at this point)

- rescanned the storage

- went into storage configuration -> Storage Pools for file and initially saw 8TB of available space.  I started messing around with the LUNs and what storage groups they were assigned to.  Did some rescans of the storage inbetween and seemingly, my available storage has now dropped to 4TB available (I actually saw this drop to 6TB and thought it was because I assigned one of the LUNs to another storage group but undid that change).

I've sinced verified that all the LUNS are only assigned to storage group ~filestorage (none have been deleted in the process of me playing around). I've even tried adding 2 extra LUNs to the ~filestorage group as of this writing and does not seem to change the size below.

nas_pool command seems to verify that it is indeed only 4TB available.  there are no volumes or filesystems at all.

./nas_pool -l

id      inuse   acl     name                      storage system

45      n       0       SATA_POOL_0               APMxx

./nas_pool -size SATA_POOL_0

id           = 45

name         = SATA_POOL_0

used_mb      = 0

avail_mb     = 0

total_mb     = 0

potential_mb = 4095998

2 Intern

• 

20.4K Posts

March 25th, 2013 21:00

can you post output from "nas_disk -l"

March 25th, 2013 22:00