Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 8th, 2015 05:00

Preparing for excam: Questions about ISMV2

Hey there

right know I am studying for the ITSMv2 Excam and I am reading the book about it. On page 82 there is a chapter about traditional LUNs and thin LUNs.

Traditional thick LUNs are mapped to a traditional RAID Group and expanding those would be a MetaLUN. So far I've no issue with that BUT

beased on the book a Thin LUN resides in a Shared Pool. But from my experience with working on EMC VNX i can create a traditional tick LUN in the pool as well and expand it with capacity out of the pool. If i want to use Thin i can say this is a Thin LUN by klicking "Thin" and allocated 10 TB even if i am using only 2 TB. Am I right? Or am I wrong? Are all LUNs in a pool Thin LUNs even when "Thin" is not ticked? Can i change a LUN in a pool to thin and thick all the time? Are there two meanings of thin in EMC environments?

Thank you for clarification and greetings,

4.5K Posts

July 29th, 2015 13:00

Not sure why that is happening. Does this happen for every commend that you post?

glen

43 Posts

July 29th, 2015 23:00

No. Not for all comments. But some times my posts are going for a moderator approval and it is taking time to get approved.

208 Posts

July 31st, 2015 00:00

Hi Peter_EMC

This i understand. But if I have let's say 3 disks i can create a RAID 5 with 4+1 and 8+1 what's the difference? For sure there is an error saying please select a mutlipple of 5 or 9 but it is going to work anyway. So i asume 4+1 and 8+1 is the amount of disks in a RAID Group but what are the drawbacks when using 12 Disks using 4+1 or 8+1 is neither a multiple of 5 nor 9.

Any ideas?

43 Posts

July 31st, 2015 00:00

Hi Duker,