Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 30th, 2013 02:00

VNX Data Mover Failover

Hi

I'm completely new to EMC storage, but we are looking at getting in a pair of VNX's very soon. Most is block, but we were looking to use the Data Movers for file server CIFS/SMB services.

One DM is based at site1, and the other at site2. My quesiton is, does the IP address of the 'file server' service (that users UNC to in Windows) get transferred from one DM to another in the event of a failover? (We do have a layer 2 network (stretched vLAN) between the two sites).

If not, how do the users get re-pointed to the failover DM?

Thanks

53 Posts

October 30th, 2013 03:00

hi,

just to need the network name same(interface name) on both side and also  use VDM for replication instead of physical DM.

also check and verify DNS should be updated after failover with new IP and same hostname of CIFS server.

Regards,

Muhammad

October 30th, 2013 04:00

Thanks. Are you saying that you can failover between two PHYSICAL VNXs without the user noticing (IP inherited). Or are you just talking about single VNX DM local standby failover? AN EMC guy has told me that "local" failover is fine, but when failing over (DR) to the other site2 VNX, it will need a different IP address and will only inherit the DNS name and credentials and that users will need to update DNS to reconnect. This seems crazy to me if it is true.

2 Intern

• 

20.4K Posts

October 30th, 2013 04:00

standby datamover takes over primary datamover identity, that includes mac address, ip addresses, routing tables, etc.  These days they failover so fast that if CIFS client is not actively using the share they will not notice a thing, otherwise that will need to double click on the mapped drive to re-establish CIFS session.

October 30th, 2013 05:00

Am I the only person here thinking that is poor?

Would I not be better off with a Windows cluster!?