Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 10th, 2008 02:00

HELP! I have multiple viruses showing on AVG, 1st is: trojan horse generic_cMFD

Hi to all, I am a newbie and admit it, so please accept my apologies up front, lol...

The path on the first is: path:C:\Windows\privacy_danger\index.htm,virus   My son's friend used my computer in the middle of the night, says he went to a game site, now I have all kinds of wiggy viruses, the one above is just one, there is also Trojan Horse BHO.DBH, trojan horse downloader.ZLOB.UXN, trojan horse generic 9.BGKP and more. These are in all my files!

It brings up a fake screen that is plain, that if I put the mouse in the upper right corner, I can close it and my screen shows when that closes, most things are missing from my start menu, the time is in military and says "VIRUS ALERT" to the right of it, when I try to log onto the internet, it takes me to a page that says I have no connection, but when I type in an address it works. I am currently scanning my computer with

http://www.kaspersky.com/virusscanner, which I found while looking in old threads that another member with a different version of the generic trojan was advised to go, so I thought I would try at least. I have to go out of town for a couple days to get my son, but will check as soon as I get back to see if any of you have any advice, I use this computer to work and I am a disabled single mom with two kids, so buying anything is next to impossible. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am worrying just a tad to say the least. Thanks all!

Sherry

20.5K Posts

August 10th, 2008 12:00

Sherry,
Try running Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware.
Please download to your desktop Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here or Here

Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
  • Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.