Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

N

May 4th, 2008 14:00

Changed Settings

this is something that is very frustrating for me. sometimes my wireless internet stops working on my dell laptop. i have a good connection but i cant go on the internet. so when i restart my computer, all my setting dissapear. my background is gone, my internet setting are gone, and anthing i have saved on the laptop is alos gone. i downloaded norton antivirus and it says i have no virus or spyware. this happens regularly to me about once a week.

why does this happen and how can i stop it from doing this again?

301 Posts

May 4th, 2008 17:00

You stated you downloaded Norton.  Did you not have protection before then?  If not, an infection could be part of the problem.

13 Posts

May 5th, 2008 01:00

i just downloaded norton. but ive had this problem from the very begining. and if i downloaded norton then shouldnt norton take out the problem or atleast let me know?

301 Posts

May 5th, 2008 21:00

If you had your pc connected to the internet with no malware protection you probably do have some sort of infection.  If your pc is infected, that may or may not be part of the problem.  You would think a paid for antivirus product would be able to find and clean the pc, but this is not the case.  Most antivirus providers are playing catchup, the bad guys make the maliscious programs, and then the good guys figure out ways to detect and remove it.  Even though Norton is saying you are clean, there is a good chance it is incorrect.