Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 29th, 2012 03:00

Help with Dell Inspiron One 2305

This is my very first time asking for help on here and I am completely brain dead when it comes to computers, so please bear with me!

I think I may have screwed up big time trying to fix my computer rather than paying to get it fixed. I was having an issue with my screen and notified Dell who later had my motherboard replace. Afterwards, I was told to reinstall Windows 7 and was given a new disc. Thinking I knew what I was doing, I simply popped in the disc and chose the recommended option, which after a long process, directed me to sign in with some sort of username and password. 

After not being able to get through without the secret codeword, I spoke to a Dell representative who let me know I had installed the disc wrong and attempted to talk me through it. The only option left was for me to completely start over and the rep gave me a couple of days to back up my files. 

When starting up my computer, I was given the option to do some sort of set up or go to Windows 7 and I eventually got to Dell datasafe recovery (I couldn't even tell you how) and apparently backed up my computer on a Toshiba external hard drive I had bought. After it said it was 100% finished backing up my files, it was unable to finish the rest of the process.

Unfortunately, I have the mindset that I can easily find the solution myself and kept clicking around and finding different options to get my computer to work somehow and that has led my computer to not even be able to start up properly. After the Dell logo sign appears, I'm redirected to some sort of DRMK thing. I've searched all over and don't even understand what I've done or what I can do. 

I obviously need tons of help and would appreciate any insight whatsoever, besides being told how badly I screwed up :(