Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 4th, 2009 14:00

seeking help on restorating XP OS

Hi there,

I am a novice to operating system. I was trying to re-install XP OS using the restoration cd that came along with the purchase of my deaktop DIMENSION 5150. After the re-installation started a while (in blue screen), an error message pops out:

This application has failed to start because winsrv was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.>

Then I started installation, nothing else happened. same error message and re-installation stops there forever.

I wonder if any one here had this same problem and how to get it resolved.  I appreciate any suggestions and helps.

BTW, anyway to get a complete re-installation cd (not restoration one) from DELL?

Happy New Year

SF123

Hi there,

I am a novice to operating system. I was trying to re-install XP OS using the restoration cd that came along with the purchase of my deaktop DIMENSION 5150. After the re-installation started a while (in blue screen), an error message pops out:

This application has failed to start because winsrv was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.>

Then I started installation, nothing else happened. same error message and re-installation stops there forever.

I wonder if any one here had this same problem and how to get it resolved.  I appreciate any suggestions and helps.

BTW, anyway to get a complete re-installation cd (not restoration one) from DELL?

Happy New Year

SF123

You can get it at this link. Just input your information like the shipping and also you e-mail address so you can track the request. This would take about 3 to 5 days to get to you.

http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dellcare/en/backupcd_form_internal

6.4K Posts

Actually, the reinstallation disk Dell sends is a full copy of Windows XP.  Dell hasn't used restore disks in more than five years.