July 30th, 2015 02:00

RDP to port 3389 Failed

RDP to port 3389 Failed

Specs:
Windows 7 Ultimate, at my home
iPad running iOS 4.2.1
App Version 2.1.100
Attempting Auto Discovery
Both devices are on the same network; the desktop is wired and the iPad is wireless (using Apple's Airport Extreme router)

I am completely new to the practice of connecting to my desktop remotely. As such, I think I'm missing some key step that is assumed in the documentation to be understood. I looked through the FAQ and troubleshooting but the information there seemed very vague.

I have...
-Installed PocketCloud on my iPad, and its companion program on my computer.
-Successfully signed in to my Google account on both devices
-Verified that PocketCloud is allowed through my firewall (in the Firewall window within Control Panel I see WyseBrowser and PocketCloudService with full permissions)

However, my desktop computer does not show up during auto-detection. When I test connectivity through the desktop Auto Discovery program on my desktop, it gives me the messages: "RDP to port 3389 failed." and "VNC to port failed."

I attempted to input the desktop's information manually into the app instead of using Auto Discovery, but I don't really know what I'm doing on that front and was unsuccessful.

Any help would be much appreciated.

544 Posts

July 30th, 2015 02:00

We should be able to get Auto Discovery working.

1) Right click on the tray icon and select "Diagnostics".
2) Proceed through the steps.
3) Once that is done, right click on the tray icon again and select "Auto Discovery Settings".
4) Ensure that the "Signout" button is lit up and the "Login" button is not.
5) Re-launch the app on your iPad.

That process should turn on RDP for you. Let me know if it works.

July 31st, 2015 23:00

Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
You will need to manually enable Remote Desktop in System Properties. What version of Windows are you running?

Hi
I am running XP Pro.