Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 8th, 2015 04:00

The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed

The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed

first, I am brand new to WSM, but I work with Citrix and WTS so I got some overview of this technology.

This one has however been puzzling me for a while now. The strange thing is that it only appears on one out of my two test machines, which both are the same make and model. The image I've captured is set to Volatile Cache.

The error only appears when I try to log in with new users. Users who have been logged on before the image was set to Volatile Cache, are not affected, I believe because their credentials are cached on the image for a period of time.

I tried to delete the device from WSM and Active Directory, and rejoin it under a different name. But the problem persists. I've checked that the hostname of the steaming client corresponds with the object tied to its mac-address in WSM.

I logged on to the streamed os as a cached user to check the event log, and I can see W32TIME error 120. going something like this: The time provider NtpClient failed to establish a trust relationship between this computer and the petrilabs.local domain in order to securely synchronize time. NtpClient will try again in 15 minutes. The error was: The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed. (0x800706FD)

I check the clock on the computer, and it was incorrect, I fixed it in the BIOS, tried to start up the image again but the same error. Time shows correctly if I log in with a cached user to check.

I wondering if this could have something to do with capuring an image of a computer that is not in the domain, and if I did that only to join it to the domain before I made it volatile. I am currently making a new image just to check that. But in case that is not the case, have any of you encountered this?