Start a Conversation

Unsolved

C

1 Message

October 28th, 2020 04:00

Help Choosing A New Desktop With 3 Monitors

I'm looking to buy a new Dell desktop for working from home. I won't be gaming on it but I will be using it for Zoom meetings etc. The XPS's seem to be currently sold out so the desktop I'm considering is the New G5 gaming desktop.

My question relates to the fact that I really want 3 monitors. 2 monitors are good but the inside of the monitor frames sit directly in my eyeline and I would be more productive with 3. I don't want a single, extra-wide monitor because I just don't get on with them as well as multiple monitors.

For the monitors, I'm considering the Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor U2719D.

I'm not tech savvy so I need a dumbed-down answer for my question: will I be able to run 3 of these monitors with that desktop? In terms of, does it have enough of the right ports, etc? Would I need to purchase any adaptors, make any customisations, or will it simply work out-of-the-box (pun intended)?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

October 28th, 2020 05:00

@Col12     My question relates to the fact that I really want 3 monitors.

I'm not sure what your budget is for your new home work station, so hard to recommend a computer with the performance components that will provide the most enjoyable experience. As far as the triple monitor configuration . . . that is more a function of the graphics card you choose. Dell sources their own proprietary version of the various graphics cards, so the information on the manufactures' web site may not be what comes with your Dell computer. The Dell nVidia RTX 2070 Super graphics cards come with 3 x DisplayPort 1.4 . . . which would support the three monitor set-up.

1 Rookie

• 

3.2K Posts

October 28th, 2020 06:00

@Col12 There are a few things to consider: