Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

2 Intern

• 

5.8K Posts

February 4th, 2020 22:00

New XPS Destop Total Fail at Start Up.

I purchased an XPS Desktop 8930 in late 2019, with Win 10 Pro. My attempts to activate it today were dismal. I was able to connect to the net via both wifi and a cable, register at Microsoft and at Dell (a much resented invasion of privacy) but the registration with Dell was not easy, and I could not close the screen. I could not even shut off the PC or restart.

So I did a hard shut down and restart. Now I'm staring at a generic Win 10 background screen with no files or folders, no useful taskbar I can find, and no useful programs I can open. My screen is useless. I am getting no error messages.

I've been using and installing Dell PCs for over 20 years, and this is the first I could not install. Considering it is a top of the line system, I'm very disappointed. Any suggestions are appreciated.

2 Intern

• 

5.8K Posts

February 7th, 2020 16:00

Well … resolution!

The Good:

A Dell tech solved the problem in about 10 minutes, arriving less than 2 days after I contacted Dell Phone Support, within the time block previously arranged. I’ve never needed Dell tech support before, and must give kudos to Dell for this warranty support.

The Bad;

The solution was ridiculously simple, and was recognized by the tech within minutes: the mouse was configured for a left-handed user, and I’m right-handed. Of course, this was a software setting that I certainly never set, as I never could access the software. I certainly don’t remember asking for a left-handed mouse when I ordered my system!

The lack of files and taskbar was fixed easily by re-setting the screen resolution.

The Ugly:

I didn’t figure it out!

Thanks to all who responded. This XPS is a quantum leap over my previous Win 7 desktop!

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

February 5th, 2020 09:00

@joe53 wrote:

I purchased an XPS Desktop 8930 in late 2019, with Win 10 Pro.