Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

3 Posts

January 20th, 2019 13:00

Studio XPS 435MT, replacing PSU?

I'm having trouble booting up my Dell Studio XPS 435 MT... pressing the power button on the tower no longer has any effect. There is still a green light at the back of the tower indicating it is receiving power. I believe I might need to replace the Power Supply Unit, but I'm not too tech savvy and want to ensure I get a compatible replacement part. I understand it needs 4x SATA connectors, but that's about the extent of my limited understanding. I'm located in Canada so hoping for help with a Canadian retailer...

Would one of these Corsair PSUs from NewEgg work?

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007656%204814%20600053800%201100676578&IsNodeId=1&Description=corsair%20power%20supply&bop=And&Order=REVIEWS&PageSize=36

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

January 20th, 2019 17:00

It would be a waste of money to replace the psu on this 10 year old Win 7 computer. No guarantee that the power supply is bad. It might be something else. Put the money towards a new computer.

One thought- have you ever replaced the cmos battery? That would be a cheap fix. Check your manual for the right model coin cell battery. 

https://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_studio_xps_desktop/studio-xps-435_service%20manual_en-us.pdf

3 Posts

January 20th, 2019 20:00

OK thank you for your response Mary. I will try replacing the CMOS battery...

EDIT: I tried replacing it and it did not work :S

3 Posts

January 20th, 2019 21:00

If the replacement PSU is as cheap as the ones referenced on NewEgg ($60) I'd be very happy to get this system running again... any guidance on picking a correct replacement PSU would be so greatly appreciated.

4 Operator

• 

3.2K Posts

January 21st, 2019 04:00