Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

R

May 15th, 2018 19:00

XPS 8500, installed SSD, does not boot up

My 2TB hard drive failed last week and I am trying to replace it with an SSD drive. For some reason now my computer turns on but my monitor (which works, I checked with another computer) is just a solid black with absolutely no writing. The power button is now solid orange. The motherboard light is on (solid orange). one thing I noticed is when I have the monitor plugged into the tower, the monitor light is solid orange, as soon as I unplug it then it is blue and I can see the writing on the monitor.

I am not sure what to do, is it the motherboard, the video card, the CMOS battery or something else? When I unplug the monitor from the video card and plug it into the slot directly on the motherboard it does the same thing (that is why I don't think it is the video card), but I am not an expert and I don't want to mess up the machine more.

If someone has been through this, I would love some help.

Thank you

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts

May 15th, 2018 23:00

Version of Windows?

Do you see the Dell logo when you first power on?

Did you already install the new SSD and load Windows on it? And is the old drive unplugged from the motherboard?

What happens if you boot from a bootable USB stick?

You have to physically remove the add-in video card from the PC in order to try using any of the on-board video ports, because the add-in card usually disables the on-board ports.

6 Posts

May 16th, 2018 04:00

It originally came with Windows 8 and I updated to 10.

No Dell logo.  The new SSD is installed but I haven't been able to install anything on it. I have a black screen, so can't see anything. The old drive is unplugged. I couldn't boot up from a bootable disk, cause I can't see anything.

I removed the video card and plugged the monitor straight to the motherboard and I get the same thing still.

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts