Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

12 Posts

February 5th, 2019 17:00

XPS 8500, motherboard replacement help

My family owns a Dell XPS 8500, a few months ago it started acting up. It wouldn’t boot, and then it wouldn’t stay running for more than 5-7minutes. We took it to our local office supply store and they told us that we had fried the motherboard. So we searched online for a replacement motherboard. Dell doesn’t make New motherboards for this unit, so the best we could do was a refurbished unit. It took more than six weeks to get it from China. We installed it. No problem with the installation. When we tried to boot it up, we got that amber light/standby mode. So again we went online, here in fact, we tried the unplug the unit and press and hold the power for fifteen seconds. We tried taking the battery out of the motherboard itself. We even tried to install the wrong the hard drive cable that came with the new board. Nothing has worked yet. Please help, as a college student I need the computer 

10 Elder

• 

44.4K Posts

February 6th, 2019 16:00

Did you decide if you're getting the single normal one-beep or the BIOS failure series of one-beeps separated by short pauses at boot?

Did you clean the top of the CPU and bottom of heat sink and apply a thin coat of fresh thermal paste (eg, Arctic Silver) before re-attaching the heat sink to the new motherboard?

Remove the battery and clear BIOS, but wait to reinstall the battery. Pull out add-in video card and any other PCI-e cards and reseat RAM modules in their slots. (How many RAM modules and are they all identical?)

Disconnect all drives except the boot hard drive. Recheck all connections to the motherboard including from PSU and front panel.

Now reinstall battery and close up, making sure cables/connections don't get dislodged. Connect only mouse and keyboard to rear USB2 and a monitor to an onboard video port. Does it boot now?