Start a Conversation

Unsolved

G

41 Posts

April 8th, 2019 18:00

XPS 8930, concerned about heat issues

It's time for me to start preparing to replace the XPS8100 that I bought in 2010. I've been buying XPS desktops since 1998 but I'm concerned about the issues with heat in the 89XX cases that I've been reading about in this forum.

I probably would go with something like an I5\I7, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (or comparable), 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD M.2 for OS and applications, 2TB HDD 7200 RPM spinner for data, and maybe a second 2TB HDD 5400 RPM spinner to back up that data. I keep my PCs 8+ years if they survive that long so I could see replacing the 2TB spinners with SSDs at some point as those come down in price.

I don't game or do anything with video. I do some photo post processing with large files. I make a fair amount of Macrium Reflect images and data backups and copies of those backups that keep the drives spinning for 45 minutes or so (but that's with my current XPS8100, I guess I could expect quicker imaging and backing up on a new rig, heh).

Should I be concerned about heat issues with this scenario? I don't want to have to mess with replacing fans, adding fans, sealing the case, or any similar things I've read in this forum.

Would I gain anything by going with the XPS SE instead of the regular XPS?

Thoughts?

Thanks!

732 Posts

April 8th, 2019 19:00

@ggeinec wrote:

It's time for me to start preparing to replace the XPS8100 that I bought in 2010. I've been buying XPS desktops since 1998 but I'm concerned about the issues with heat in the 89XX cases that I've been reading about in this forum.