Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 23rd, 2020 13:00

DisplayPort monitor for XPS 9560

I've gotten myself in a bit of a mess. I accidentally purchased a monitor with no HDMI input (S24E450D). I've always used HDMI connections before for external monitors so I have no experience with more modern connection types. So I went and bought a displayport-to-hdmi adapter (NX50715 0.5), but it's not working. 

Is there any way to make this monitor work with the parts I have? If not, what are my other options? Thank you very much.

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

April 23rd, 2020 14:00

@crmccar  you need a USB-C to DisplayPort cable.  DisplayPort to HDMI cables can only be used to connect a DisplayPort source to an HDMI input, not the other way around.  That's because most (but not all) DisplayPort source ports can fall back to HDMI signaling for compatibility, using a mechanism called "Dual Mode DisplayPort", but HDMI ports cannot switch to DisplayPort signaling, and displays do not support receiving a native HDMI signal on their DisplayPort inputs.

3 Posts

April 23rd, 2020 14:00

@jphughan Thank you for the explanation. When reading up on this, I heard about issues with the XPS's USB-C port. Is that something I'll likely have to deal with?

And for a 1080p monitor, I don't need a Thunderbolt cable, right? Any usb-c to displayport adapter/cable would do?

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

April 23rd, 2020 15:00

@crmccar  there's a known issue with the USB-C ports of the XPS 13 9350 and XPS 15 9550, but that only comes into play when using a regular USB-C cable to connect to certain Dell USB-C displays.  And there's a known issue with the XPS 15 9570's HDMI output whereby it doesn't work with DVI displays.  But none of that applies to your system or overall display scenario.